What Are The Different Types Of SSL Certificates?

Securing web hosting is an ongoing process. As the threats evolve, security measures have to keep up. Also, there isn’t a single, all-encompassing security solution. Online protection is all about layering security. An SSL certificate, such as Comodo SSL Certificate is one such part of the security puzzle that plays an important role in securing data as it moves between a hosting server and the user’s browser. An SSL certificate also reassures users with visual indicators.

SSL security protects data by encrypting it. In doing so it ensures that even if the data is intercepted, it is useless without its decryption key. Buy SSL to ensure peace of mind.

But do you know that there are different types of SSL certificates? When you are out in the market to buy SSL certificates for your websites, you will be faced with the dilemma of choosing the right SSL certificate.

Let’s look at different types of SSL certificates to help you choose the right SSL certificate.

  1. Extended Validation (EV) SSL Certificates

When you apply for an Extended Validation SSL Certificate, the Certificate Authority (CA) will vet your application thoroughly. It is a strictly defined process where the CA will verify the legal, physical and operational validity of your company. It will match your credentials with official records and also make sure that you have the exclusive right to use the domain for which you want the EV SSL certificate.

This process is crucial because the SSL certificate is also meant to reassure website visitors about its authenticity. Hence, the CA has to be sure that you are who you claim to be so that they can assure users about your authenticity.

  1. Organization Validated (OV) SSL Certificates

In terms of security and trustworthiness, an Organization Validated SSL certificate ranks below the EV SSL certificate. While it does check the legal and physical validity of a website’s owner, the checks do not go as deep as they do for an EV SSL.

For example, the CA does not verify the phone number, the length of time the company has been in existence, its registration number, and jurisdiction for issuing an OV SSL certificate. While it is simpler to get than an EV SSL certificate, it will do its job well. It will still encrypt data, and still reassure users of your authenticity. It just has fewer points of authenticity.

  1. Domain Validated (DV) SSL Certificates

A Domain Validated SSL certificate is the easiest to get as it has the fewest checks among the three types of SSL certificates. Relatively speaking, it is also the least trustworthy of the three. When you apply for a DV SSL certificate, the CA sends an email to the website owner listed as per the WHOIS database.

A DV SSL certificate is issued the quickest, but then offers

the lowest level of trust to your website. If your website deals with sensitive user data, processes online payments, or stores banking and credit card information, a DV SSL certificate won’t be enough for you. You will need something stronger like EV SSL.

When it comes to data security, having an SSL certificate ensures that your data stays protected at all times. It also issues a seal of trust for reassuring website visitors.