Colorado Springs car accident: Things you need to know!

Although traumatic and unfortunate, car accidents are real and happen all the time. The number of car accidents reported in Colorado is on the rise. If you ever get injured in such a crash in Colorado Springs, you would want to know the basics. In this post, we are sharing more on steps after an accident, when to call a Colorado Springs car accident attorney, and other state laws. 

Right after an accident 

  1. Report the accident. Call the law enforcement from the accident site, or report to the nearest sheriff’s office. All auto accidents in Colorado must be reported, if there was death, injury, or property damage involved. Do not flee the scene, or let someone talk you out of calling the police. 
  2. Call 911, if needed. If you, or other drivers or passengers, are injured, call 911 immediately. Some car accident injuries only show up weeks later, so make sure to see an injury doctor, even if the pain doesn’t seem severe. 
  3. Take evidence. Note that you must gather relevant evidence from the car accident scene. Gather details of drivers, witnesses, and take as many photos and videos of the scene, including your injuries, damaged vehicles, and other things. If you file a personal injury lawsuit, the evidence will matter. 

The modified comparative negligence rule

Colorado is a modified comparative negligence state. This means that your share of settlement will be lower, if you are partially at fault for the accident. If your share of fault is 50% or more, you cannot recover anything. Your settlement, otherwise, will be reduced by your share of fault in percentage. 

The statute of limitations

Colorado, like other states, has a statute of limitations too. You have 3 years, from the date of accident, to file a lawsuit against the at-fault party. Keep in mind that the statute of limitations doesn’t apply to car insurance claims. If you are suing for just property damage, you can do so within 3 years. For wrongful death lawsuits, the deadline is 2 years. 

When to hire a car accident attorney?

If you are unsure of fault, or were partly to be blamed for the accident, hiring a lawyer would be a wise idea. Keep in mind that insurance companies are not on your side, and with a car accident attorney by your side, your chances of getting a fair settlement increases manifold. 

Check online now to find top car accident attorneys in Colorado Springs. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *